The Colvin Prize

The Society is pleased to announce the shortlist for the second annual Colvin Prize. A new, contemporary medallion has been commissioned for prizewinners. The Colvin Prize is named in honour of Sir Howard Colvin (1919-2007), a former president of this Society. The prize is awarded annually to the author (or authors) of an outstanding work of reference on an architectural subject. The work of reference must be by a British or Commonwealth author, or on a British or Commonwealth subject. All modes of publication are eligible, e.g. catalogues, gazetteers, websites.

The prize will be administered by the existing Alice Davis Hitchcock Medallion (ADH) committee, and the winner will be announced at the  Annual Lecture and Awards Ceremony. Our thanks to those members who nominate books and provide citations.

2018 Colvin Prize Winner

Philip Temple and Colin Thom,
Survey of London, Vols 51 and 52: South-East Marylebone
(Yale University Press)

2018 Colvin Prize Shortlist


Colvin Prize

Hawksmoor Essay Medal

James Morris Essay Prize


Ruth Harman and Nikolaus Pevsner, The Buildings of England: Yorkshire West Riding: Sheffield and the South (Yale University Press)
Clare Hartwell, Nikolaus Pevsner and Elizabeth Williamson, The Buildings of England: Derbyshire(Yale University Press)

Previous winner

Click on the author’s names below for detailed information on the awarded publication.

​2017:  Samantha Hardingham, Cedric Price: Works (AA Publications and the Canadian Centre for Architecture)