James Morris Essay Prize
for Colonial and Post-Colonial Architecture

The James Morris Essay Prize is named after James Morris (1878-1964), a British-born and -educated architect who worked in South Africa from 1902, including a period spent in the office of Sir Herbert Baker. It was generously endowed by his grandson, Dr Simon Morris.

It is awarded to the best essay received on British Colonial and Post-Colonial Architecture. The prize is presented at the Society’s Annual Lecture and Awards Ceremony.

2017 winner:
Thomas Rigby, ‘India, Imperialism and Identity: Arthur Shoosmith’, University of Liverpool

Enter the Essay Competition

The winner receives £400 and the essay will be considered for publication in the Society’s international peer-reviewed journal Architectural History.

Click here to read about the general regulations for the Society’s Essay Prizes

The detailed terms of the James Morris Prize are as follows:

“It will be awarded to the best essay submitted on British colonial or post-colonial architectural history.

“Essays may be on the British Empire generally, or on any area or areas which were British colonies at the time being written about, or had previously been British colonies. ‘Colonies’ includes protectorates, dominions, mandates, and land ruled by chartered companies, but not any part of the United Kingdom or any non-British possessions of a British monarch; it specifically does not include Ireland or the United States.”

Essays can therefore be on the architecture of a place when it was a  British colony or after it ceased to be a British colony, but not before it became a British colony.

Previous Winners

2016: No award

2015: No award

2014: Emily Turner 
PhD candidate at Edinburgh
‘A House Divided: Nineteenth-Century Evangelical Anglican Perspectives on Architecture for Missions’

2013:   Irit Katz
PhD candidate at Cambridge
‘Camps in Mandatory Palestine: The Emergence of Temporary Architecture as a Spatio-Political Instrument’.


Colvin Prize

Alice Davis Hitchcock Medallion

Hawksmoor Essay Medal